Posts Tagged ‘journalism awards’

Me Hopes D:F/M Colleagues Are Not Doing the Sneakie Sneaky

Saturday, April 5th, 2014
Revised D:F/M Logo in the Works

Revised D:F/M Logo in the Works


The Envoy Beckons

Sunday, May 19th, 2013

morris-tinyWednesday, May 1, 2013, 12:31 p.m. I got an email from Envoy reporter Sophie Simon who wanted to interview me about the call I put out for a boycott of the Aronson Awards. She was fed, according to her email, bogus information (of course) which she accepted as gospel (of course).

The plot thickens.


James Aronson Awards Coordinator Peter Parisi Supports News Censorship of the WORD: Boycott the Aronson Awards

Friday, April 13th, 2012

I’m telling my students to boycott the event. I’m telling everyone in the journalism circles I frequent to boycott the event even if they never heard of  the Aronsons. I’m telling them to tell their friends and associates.

Peter Parisi [From his facebook page

Regarding Colleague Parisi’s comments at the March 14 faculty meeting supporting censorship of the WORD: How incredibly hypocritical. How incredibly obtuse — as he and Colleagues dumb enough to support him are about to learn.

I was not exaggerating when I recently told Colleagues in the Department of Film and Media Studies, Hunter College, about the contempt in journalism circles for this event and that I had to put someone in place at the Polk Awards last year for intimating that I somehow was involved with this Parisi coordinated farce.


New America Media National Ethnic Media Award Winners

Thursday, May 28th, 2009

This is a quickie alert because I’m trying to wrap up my semester and have been waylaid with last minute stuff. More later about NAM and its June 4-5 convention. Needless to say, NAM – thanks to Jonathan Mena, Kisha Allison, Jacqueline Fernandez and Eunji Jang – really admires Hunter students and does a lot to support them.

On with the quickie:

NAM Media advisory


ATLANTA – New America Media  the nation’s largest association of ethnic media outlets, today announced winners of its National Ethnic Media Awards honoring exceptional contributions to journalism by members of the ethnic media.